I’m Not Quite Dead

I know it’s been forever since I’ve posted, but things have picked up for me recently. Since I’ve been so busy, and it’s not like this blog actually makes me any money, it’s kind of fallen by the wayside.

Since I last posted, I’ve taken on two new jobs. The first, as kind of a side gig, is that I’ve begun to write reviews for Game Revolution. My first review, of the game 1942: Joint Strike, should be posted soon, and I’ve been working on another one this week for Bionic Commando Rearmed. I’m just doing Xbox Live Arcade games so far, since it’s easy for GR to send me a redeemable code, and so far I’m just getting free games out of it, but hey, free games!

On a more career-oriented note, in eleven days I will be starting work in QA at Blue Fang Games. It’s entry-level, sure, but it’s a foot in the door of the industry in which I’ve wanted to work since I was five years old, drawing old Nintendo Power-style level layouts for imaginary platformers. (I created multiple concepts for a Calvin & Hobbes game of which I was particularly proud.)

Blue Fang is known for the Zoo Tycoon series, which I’ve always respected for the fact that it took the “tycoon” name, which often guarantees a game is shovelware, and actually made a quality franchise to go along with it. It joins Roller Coaster Tycoon and Railroad Tycoon in that respect, so it’s in good company.

Needless to say, I’m thrilled. Blue Fang is based in Waltham, MA, near Boston, so I’ve spent the last week or so looking at places to live in the area. At this point, I’ve missed the September 1 move-in, but I’m heading back down to the city tomorrow to keep looking.

So between everything that’s been going on, I haven’t had a whole lot of time to spend on The Literary Gamer, or even gaming, for that matter. (Although I did finally unlock all the weapons for my medic and pyro in Team Fortress 2, that was like, two weeks ago.)

Don’t worry, TLG is not dead, and I expect my posts to become a bit more exciting now that I’ve actually kick-started a career in the games industry.

Leave a Reply

